Particle and Wave

Booker, Difalco, Heroux, Leggat, Nussey

ISBN 1-894469-31-3

A Mansfield Omnibus of Electro-Magnetic Fiction
Featuring Julie Booker, Salvatore Difalco, Jason Heroux, Alexandra Leggat, Kent Nussey

Mansfield Press presents a showcase of short fiction for uneasy times. Particle and Wave illumines the borderland where the urgencies of daily life clash with our best intentions. Ranging from the playful to the elegiac, the stories in Particle and Wave are filled with vivid characters moving through a landscape of compromised trust, united only by the desire to make sense of this particular millennial moment. The five writers collected here provide a powerful sense of where the contemporary short story has most recently come from, and the direction it may next take – a place where the ten syllable text message collides with the enormous longing of the human heart.

Julie Booker’s poems and stories have appeared in numerous literary journals such as Descant, Prism, Windsor Review, the New Quarterly and Cottage Life Magazine. Her short story collection, Silver Hearts, was shortlisted for the Metcalf-Rooke Award, 2005, and her novella, Scratch, was a finalist in the Malahat Review Novella Contest, 2006. She is currently teaching in Toronto.

Salvatore Difalco is the author of What Happens At Canals (Mansfield), and Black Rabbit & Other Stories (Anvil). He resides in the Niagara Peninsula.

Jason Heroux is the author of the poetry collection Memoirs of an Alias (Mansfield). His poetry has appeared in literary journals in Canada, the US, Belgium, England, Ireland, India, and Algeria. He lives in Kingston, Ontario.

Alexandra Leggat is the author of the poetry collection This is me since yesterday and the short story collections Pull Gently, Tear Here and Meet Me in the Parking Lot. She instructs creative writing classes at the Continuing Education Department of Brock University and is a regular contributor to Niagara Life Magazine. Her fiction and poetry has appeared in various publications across Canada.and the U.S.

Kent Nussey is the author of two short story collections, In Christ There Is No East or West and The War in Heaven, and a novel, A Love Supreme.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply